Hi everyone,
Just completed my first week of Musculo and to be honest it is not what I expected at all. Perhaps it’s just getting my head around all the first week routine, but I feel extremely time poor. I have decided to discuss time management this week rather than a specific patient as it seems to be the most clinically relevant problem which I am facing. Generally i consider myself to have reasonable time management skills but this week I have had to take notes home to finish most nights. It’s not just me either; all of us are hidden under increasing piles of paper work. As far as the patients go, I am enjoying the assessment and treatment side although I feel we could have been eased into the patient load a little better.
I guess what my question to those of you who have completed this rotation especially at the Curtin Bently clinic; aside from frantically trying to scroll down notes during the Ax and Rx can you give me any suggestions on how to be more efficient? Does it get easier as the weeks go by? or is this what I can expect should I work in private practice?
Sunday, February 11, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
I hear ya Jess! I think we do a lot more paperwork for each pt (notes/prenotes/postnotes/plan/etc) than what actually happens in private practice. I also don't think they spend nearly as much time assessing everything and reassessing everything. I think that they might focus in on one main area per treatment, see how that went the next time - if not so good, then do some further assessments, etc. Just my thoughts as based on personal experience as a pt! It is a little overwhelming though because I would love to work in private practice, I just don't feel competent to do so in the time that we would be alloted at this point in time. However, I believe (am trying to have faith in myself!) that this is only week 1, we have 3 more and then one more placement to really get the hang of it all. So, here goes, fingers crossed.
hey jess!
Things do get easier, trust me! When you say you are swamped with notes, is it the patient notes or the problem list? If it is the notes, i found that doing them while treating the patient the easiest option, and only assessing what is the main complaint, movement based! If it is the problem list that is the main problem, these get easier over the weeks. As for you working in a private practice, dont let this scare you. As donelle as said, there will not be half the note taking! Hope this helps.
Post a Comment